Remove i386 packages RHEL5

I recently was updating a server that someone else installed and had way to many unnecessary packages installed. I my quest to uninstall unneeded packages, I ran across packages listed twice for certain ones. By editing my .rpmmacros file in my home directory and adding this:

%_query_all_fmt %%{name}-%%{version}-%%{release}.%%{arch}

I was able to determine that there were several packages installed with both i386 and x86_64 architectures. From this post it looks like there is no harm in removing the packages except you may have some issues with browser plugins or applications that require i386 architecture.  Since all of my apps were 64bit I was able to remove all the i386 rpm with this command:

rpm -qa –queryformat=’%{n}-%{v}-%{r}.%{arch}\n’ | grep ‘\.i[3456]86$’ | wc -l

I found the above command from here which in turn referenced a great post on minimal installs of RHEL/CentOS.

Leave a Reply

